Skip to Content

Changed Names of Some Cities, States and Countries

Old Name New Name
Abyssinia Ethiopia
Angora Ankara
Batavia Jakarta
British Honduras Belize
Bechuanaland Botswana
Basutoland Lesotho
Burma Myanmar
Cape Canaveral Cape Kennedy
Ceylon Sri Lanka
Christina Oslo
Congo Zaire
Constantinople Istanbul
Dacca Dhaka
Dahomey Benin
Dutch East Indies Indonesia
Dutch Guiana Surinam
East Pakistan Bangladesh
East Timor Loro See
Egypt United Arab Republic
Ellice Island Tuvalu
Formosa Taiwan
French West Africa Mali
Gold Coast Ghana
Greenland Kalaallit Nunaat
Holland The Netherlands
Kampuchea Cambodia
Leopoldville Kinshasa
Malaya Malaysia
Manchukuo Manchuria
Mesopotamia Iraq
New Hebrides Vanuatu
Nippon Japan
Northern Rhodesia Zambia
Nyasaland Malawi
Peking Beijing
Petrograd Leningrad
Persia Iran
Portuguese Guinea Guinea Bissau
Rangoon Yangon
Rhodesia Zimbabwe
Saigon Ho Chi Minh City
Salisbury Harare
Sandwich Islands Hawaiian Islands
Siam Thailand
South West Africa Namibia
Spanish Guinea Equatorial Guinea
Stalingrad Volgograd
Tanganyika and Zanzibar Tanzania
Trucial Oman United Arab Emirates
Upper Volta Bourikina Fasso or Burkina Faso
West French Africa Mauritania

Post A Comment

We're glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that all comments are moderated according to our comment policy, and all links are nofollow. Do not use keywords in the name field. Let's have a personal and meaningful conversation.

Powered by PHPKB Knowledge Base Software